A Day in the Writing Life of JL Addicoat

Spirit of Love_300dpi (1)Let’s all welcome JL Addicoat to A Day in the Writing Life. JL’s debut novel Spirit of Love is out now! In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling. I write in a few genres so it’s probably best to say I write Speculative Fiction. The best way I can describe why is my mind appears to have a few rooms, all with interconnecting doors. They all have one room in common they all lead to and that’s the Romance room. Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary? If we’re talking about writing as in computer, I have my work room, however, a lot of my writing and plotting goes on in my head as I’m driving during the day. JL Addicoat homeoffice What’s the first thing you do before you begin to write? I turn off Facebook. When I feel I’ve done a good amount of work or I’m stuck, I’ll open it back up, but not until then. Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work? Do you have a special system in place in order to begin writing or go with the flow? I don’t have any special tactics. I will re-read the last page to refresh the ideas in my mind. Then I go with the flow and hope my characters are going to take me the same way. Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms? I suppose I stand with one foot in each camp. All stories will have a loose outline. I have plotted a 50K WIP out with what was to happen in each chapter. That worked until Chapter Six when the pantser took over. I will loosely edit as I go along.  Most of the editing however is done later in the first go over. Do you take time out to stretch, rest your eyes etc and if so do you do any exercises at your desk or between sessions? If I’ve been writing hard for more than three/four hours, I’ll go for a walk in the garden or take the neighbours dog for a walk. The fresh air relaxes me and when I return I am able to put my head down for another few hours. Thanks Jenny! You can find her website here and her blog here. Buy her book at these places: Amazon US Amazon AU Rogue Phoenix Press Barnes and Noble Smashwords

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. jladdicoat

     /  August 17, 2014

    Thanks for the blog Post, Juanita. Great Job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    How to choose a cove… on Covers that we love!
    A sexy, sassy, summe… on First Kiss Finalists!
    Michaelbut on Cruisin’ with RWA
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
    tjoyce1 on Love Gone Wild – 1 week…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

