Get Fresh in ‘15 Presents…

Session Spotlight: Publishing Contracts and Copyright

On Friday 21st of August at 10:30am as part of the business stream, Alex Adsett demonstrates to delegates the basics of copyright and publishing contracts.

This is a fast, fun and understandable introduction to publishing contracts and copyright for anyone interested in learning more about the industry.  We will go through the basics of copyright and what to expect from a standard publishing contract. As well as looking at royalties and rights, we’ll go some of the key differences between print, digital-first and self-publishing, and when warning bells should start to go off with any offer or contract.

Your Presenter ― Alex Adsett

Adsett AAPS headshot

Alex Adsett is a literary agent and publishing consultant with many years experience in the publishing industry and has managed Alex Adsett Publishing Services since 2008. As an agent, Alex represents a select group of genre authors – an exciting mix of crime, mystery, science fiction, fantasy, horror and romance.  As a publishing consultant, Alex offers publishing contract and negotiating advice to authors, publishers and booksellers.  She has worked for or with many different publishers and authors, serves on the boards of the Queensland Writers’ Centre, Queensland Literary Awards and the Small Press Network, and is often to be found on twitter at @alexadsett or via her website www.alexadsett.com.au.

What prompted you to put together this workshop for Get Fresh in ‘15 Conference?

I love talking about copyright & contracts and helping authors become more empowered with crucial information about the publishing industry.  It’s not just about dry contract stuff, but royalties, advances and tricks and traps of the industry.

What will participants take away from this session?

Anyone coming along will hopefully have a better understanding of basic copyright in Australia (and overseas), what to expect in a standard publishing contract, and when warning bells should start to go off with a publishing contract. We’ll look at some of the key differences between a print and digital-first deal, and some things to bear in mind when self-publishing.

Which members will benefit most from this session?

Any authors (or publishers or agents) wanting to improve their understanding of the fundamentals of publishing contracts and copyright. Whether or not you’re an established or new author, or have an agent, or self-publish, or are still writing your first book, it never hurts to be forearmed with extra information about the industry.

What is your latest/current/upcoming book release and where can members find out more about you?

Well, my latest romance books are the wonderful Leisl Leighton’s Dark Moon, a paranormal erotica out with Destiny and Dani Kristoff’s Sorcerer’s Spell, out with Harper Impulse. The new book I’m super excited about is Maria Lewi’s Who’s Afraid?, a fantastic urban fantasy paranormal that will blow your socks off, for fans of Patricia Briggs and Keri Arthur, out at Christmas with Piatkus.

Members can find out more about me and the agency at alexadsett.com.au or on twitter @alexadsett.

Advertisements
Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    S E Gilchrist on 2017 Ruby finalists
    annajacobsauthor on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Bernadette Rowley on 2017 Ruby finalists
    Edexcel GCSE Maths H… on BLOG BITE with Sandii Man…
    Marnie St Clair on Emerald Award and Emerald Pro…
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages

%d bloggers like this: