BLOG BITE with Jess Anastasi

Jess AnastasiBlog biteMy worst habit is… Eating when I’m suppposed to be writing. I don’t know why, but as soon as I sit down to write I get the munchies and then next thing you know I’m raiding the cupbord instead of getting words on the page.

 It’s a bit daggy but I love…  I’ll admit it, I’m a geek. I love sci-fi. I have a great memory for useless things like my favourite quotes from Stargate (Jack O’Neill  – “you ended that sentance with a preposition… you bastard.”) Farscape, Firefly, Smallville, Supernatural etc ,etc. But for the life of me can I remember where I left my keys yesterday?

Three things people might not know about me are…

1) I actually have a very clear memory of deciding I wanted to be an author when I was 14 but my careers teacher at school gave me this big long speech about how hard the publishing/journalism industry is and I should pick another career which I might actually have a chance at succeeding at. So I…

2) after I finished VCE went and did a horticulture course, so I am actually a qualified horticulturalist. but…

3) around the same time I was diagnosed with endometriosis and realised with my health being the way it was (which was really, really crap) I was unable to hold down a full time job due to how many sick days I had to take and needing time off for operations etc. And when someone tells you that you have an incurable illness which means you might not be able to have kids, your view on things in life changes. So I eventually came back to the realisation that I wanted to be an author.

If I was stranded on a desert island, the three things I would take are… My laptop, a solar battery for my laptop, and a (really hot, totally ripped) IT guy who could fix my laptop if something went wrong with it.

I write… The question is what don’t I write? Right now I’m sticking with romantic suspense and historical romance, but I’ve tried my hand at paranormal and young adult and have a burning desire to one day write sci fi/futuristic romance. 

My blog can be found here , and I can usually be found plotting my next move against those pesky agents and thinking about plots for new books which I shouldn’t be considering when I already have so many manuscripts on the go.

Wanting to take a bite of the blog? Contact Anita. Open to all members of RWA.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Hey Jess,

    Great to see you here. I didn’t realise you’re a horticulturalist. I gather you’ll be using that in an ms down the track?

    Btw, you know I love secret agents and all the fun they get up to. You write them so well!

    🙂 Mon

    Reply
  2. Mel Teshco

     /  October 16, 2009

    I love your desert island needs LOL!! Who needs water when there’s a laptop and never ending power…and a hunky fix-it man!!

    Reply
  3. Hey Jess,

    I can relate to the “being a writer is a great goal but you need to get a bill paying job to support you” speech. Like you I’ve wanted to be an author (since about age 11) but got THE SPEECH from my parents and so went into teaching.
    Had a laugh at the Jack quote – they give him so many good ones eh? 😉
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  4. Oh, yeah, I can see us all on that deserted island clutching laptops and Never-Expire batteries,
    Suzi

    Reply
  5. Oh another Stargate fan – love Jack O’Neill’s character in the series.

    Seems like your body has a Pavlovian response to writing. It equates it to eating food… 😉 Good luck with all your stories.

    Reply
  6. Nicky

     /  October 17, 2009

    Brilliant deserted on an island answer Jess. Love it. Amazing how life puts you back on what your path is meant to be. Regardless of how many twists & turns taken in trying to ‘be sensible’.

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    What We’re Rea… on Ruby Finalists!
    Derricksow on February New Releases
    Maggi Andersen on Craft: Types of Writers
    Eewang on BLOG BITE with Paula Roe
    Consultoria Seo on February New Releases
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages