RWA – A Day in the Writing Life…Christina Phillips

Welcome everyone to another Day in the Writing Life post. Joining us today is Christina Phillips.

Warning : Some content may not suitable for under 18.

In one or two sentences, please tell us what genre you write in and what made you decide that particular one is your calling.Christina Tiara Girl copy

As Christina Phillips I write erotic historical romances about sexy warriors and magical heroines with a dash of strong-willed goddesses for good measure.

As Christina Ashcroft I write about bad ass archangels and the women who capture their hearts.

I always loved reading paranormal and fantasy stories as a child, although I never thought of them in that way – it all seemed very normal to me that a magical land could be found through the back of your wardrobe. So I’ve always enjoyed writing stories with a touch of magic or fantasy elements.

Where do you write? Do you have your own special place? Does the location vary?

Kitties on my desk 2012 I’m lucky enough to have one of the spare bedrooms as my very own office. I love it! So do the cats!!

What’s the first thing you do before you begin to write?

I have to check my emails. Now I have an iPad I tend to read through my emails and check Twitter and Facebook while I’m having breakfast, so once I get to the laptop in theory I can open my current wip without any other distractions. If only this tactic actually worked in practice!!

 Do you spend much time reading over the previous day’s work? Do you have a special system in place in order to begin writing or go with the flow?

I always read over the previous day’s work so I can get back into the mood and scene. Then I just hope the muse is going to behave and let the words flow! This doesn’t always work. I have tried thinking out the next scene in advance, when I’m in bed the night before, but so far my brain refuses to cooperate!

 Are you a plotter / planner or a pantser? Do you edit as you go or prefer to edit after completion of the ms?

I’m a bit of a hybrid. I don’t plan everything out in advance but I do like to have a few major plot turns in place before I start writing. Although I have no idea how to get to any of those points until the words appear on the laptop screen, which can be a bit unnerving!

I have to edit as I go along. I send my fabulous CPs anything between one to four chapters at a time and then work on any questions or suggestions they might have. If at any point I think of something that should be either added or deleted earlier in the book then I’ll usually go back and either thread it through or pull it out, otherwise it bugs me.

When I finish the book I go back and read it through with an eye to continuity and to double check I haven’t left any plot threads hanging.

Is your writing space messy, organized or somewhere in between? Are you prepared to show evidence of your claim with a desk photo?

Organized? What’s that?! My desk is covered in… stuff. I sometimes think I need a bigger desk, but know it doesn’t matter how huge it is, it would still be overflowing. I also invariably have a cat or two sprawled across my diary or story notes. Sometimes they lend a paw on the keyboard despite my best efforts to discourage this 🙂

Thank you for being our guest Christina. For more information of Christina’s wonderful books please visit her websites.

Christina Ashcroft’s Website

Christina Phillips Website

As Christina Ashcroft the first book in my hot Archangel series has just been released, ARCHANGEL OF MERCY. I’m delighted that this book finalled in the 2012 Australian Romance Readers Award for Favourite Paranormal Romance!Archangel of Mercy

Blurb

When Aurora Robinson attempts to open a rift between dimensions to embrace her true heritage, an arrogant Archangel is the only one who can save her from the jaws of hell. And while she owes Gabriel her life, she’s determined not to fall at his feet-despite the desire she feels whenever they’re together.

After his wings were brutally destroyed millennia ago, Gabriel has no compassion for humans like those who ruined him and betrayed the ones he loved. But when he inexplicably finds himself defying ancient protocols to rescue a woman from a fate worse than death, he is shocked by the searing attraction he feels for a mortal.

As the ancient forces that seek to punish Aurora for her actions close in, Gabriel offers the tempting woman protection at his private sanctuary. But as they both succumb to their desires, they discover an even deeper connection-one that threatens to consume them.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Hot cover and wonderful sounding story. Congratulations, Christina, I look forward to reading.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, Sandii! The cover is just stunning and I love it 🙂

    Reply
  3. I always love hearing about people whose office looks like mine! Although I don’t have the cats. My pet tends to clutter up the floor rather than the desk, which is easier on the typing but I have to be very careful rolling my chair back!

    Reply
  4. *waving* Great post, Christina! And I can’t wait to read Archangel of Mercy! Your stories always ROCK! xxxxx

    Reply
  5. LOL Imelda! My cats kindly hid a lot of the mess on my desk in that photo 🙂 They’ve also been known to climb the bookshelf and cause an avalanche. And yes I always have to look behind me before I roll back the chair!

    Reply
  6. Hi Tam, thank you so much! Hope you enjoy Gabe and Aurora 🙂

    Reply
  7. Your cats look so comfy. Lovely interview 🙂

    Reply
  8. Thanks Jenny! Yes, so long as the cats are comfy that’s all that really matters!!!

    Reply
  9. Hi Christina,
    Looking forward to Archangel of Mercy and absolutely adore the cover.
    Smiles,
    Efthalia.

    Reply
  10. Thanks, Efthalia 🙂

    Reply
  11. I hardly comment, however i did a few searching and wound up here RWA
    – A Day in the Writing Life…Christina Phillips | Romance Writers of Australia.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like a few of these comments look as if they are coming from brain dead individuals?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional online social sites,
    I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you list of every one of your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • Subscribe by email

  • Subscribe by Feeder

  • Recent News

  • Blog Posts by Category

  • Archives

  • Our Team

    Blogmistress: Imelda Evans

    Blog Editor: Juanita Kees

    A Day in the Writing Life of... Keziah Hill

    Author Spotlights: Sarah Belle

    Cruisin' the Blogs: Juanita Kees

    New Releases: Laura Boon

    Blog Bites: Thea George

    Hearts Talk Wrap: Ainslie Paton

    Cover Contest: Eleni Konstantine

  • Your say:

    What We’re Rea… on Ruby Finalists!
    Derricksow on February New Releases
    Maggi Andersen on Craft: Types of Writers
    Eewang on BLOG BITE with Paula Roe
    Consultoria Seo on February New Releases
  • RWAus Tweets

  • Pages